Categories
Internet

How to Disable the “Restore Pages” Bubble/Message in Chrome

On Windows

1. Open File Explorer

2. In the search dialogue in the upper right of File Explorer search for *Chrome*.

3. Click on the folder called *Chrome* that has a path similar to this: C:\Users\yourcomputer\AppData\Local\Google. Once you’re in the folder click on the *User Data* folder. Next find the *Default* folder and also click on it. Now your path should look something like this: C:\Users\yourcomputer\AppData\Local\Google\User Data\Default.

4. Find the *Preferences* file, right click on it and click on the *Open With* option and select *Notepad*.

5. In this Notepad window click on *Edit* and then *Find*. Type in *exit_type* and click on *Find* with the *Down* direction. This will send you to this piece of code "exit_type":"Crashed". Change the word *Crashed* to *Normal*. Do not include the asterisks. Your new piece of code should look like this: "exit_type":"Normal".

6. Click *File* and then *Save* in the upper left of the Notepad.

7. Now right click on the *Preference* file that you just edited, click on *Properties* at the bottom and check the *Read Only* attribute at the bottom. Click *Apply* and close the window.

8. Now click back once in the File Explorer window to go back to the *User Data* path instead of *Default*. Your new path should look like this: C:\Users\yourcomputer\AppData\Local\Google\User Data.

9. At the bottom of the folder find the file called *Local State*. Same as before right click and *Open With* and select Notepad. Now click on *Edit* and *Find* in the upper left of the Notepad. Type in *exited_cleanly* and click on *Find* with the *Down* direction. This will send you to this piece of code "exited_cleanly":true. If instead of *true* it says *false*, change the value to *true*. Click *File* and *Save* in Notepad and exit the file.

10. Now if you made a change to the file right click on the *Local State* file and check the *Read Only* attribute at the bottom just like before.

11. Now test Chrome to see if the “Restore Pages” message still shows up. It shouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *