Categories
Software

How to Reset Network Settings on Mac

Method 1: Manually Deleting Network Configuration Files

Turn off WiFi: Click the WiFi icon in the menu bar and select “Turn WiFi Off”.

Open Finder: Click the Finder icon in your dock.

Go to Folder:

Press Command + Shift + G to bring up the “Go to Folder” window.

Enter /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/ and click “Go”.

Delete network files: Find and select the following files.

  • com.apple.airport.preferences.plist
  • com.apple.network.identification.plist
  • com.apple.wifi.message-tracer.plist
  • NetworkInterfaces.plist
  • preferences.plist

Move to Trash: Right click (or Control click) on the selected files and choose “Move to Trash” or drag them to the Trash icon. You’ll likely need to enter your administrator password.

Reboot your Mac: Click the Apple logo in the top left corner and select “Restart”.

Method 2: Using Terminal

Turn off WiFi: Click the WiFi icon in the menu bar and select “Turn WiFi Off”.

Open Terminal: Go to Applications –> Utilities –> Terminal.

Use the following command: Type the following and press Enter. You’ll need to enter your administrator password.

sudo rm -rf "/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/"*

Reboot your Mac: Click the Apple logo in the top left corner and select “Restart”.

Important Things

Back up: It’s a good idea to back up these files before deleting them in case you need to restore previous settings.

Other Network Interfaces: This will reset settings for all network interfaces (WiFi, Ethernet, Bluetooth ). If you only need to reset one, you can selectively delete only the specific .plist files.

After Resetting

You will need to re join your WiFi network and reenter the password.

You will need to reconfigure other network settings if you had them customized.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *